Skip to main content
GSBiogas - HeatIndiaVintage 2021AMS-I.E

Household Biogas plants installed in rural areas of Maharashtra

GS-1421 ↗ · current registry ID: GS2519

#49of 268 in Biogas#432of 975 in India#518of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#18of 60 in AMS-I.E

5.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard household biogas project in rural Maharashtra with a VVB-verified investment additionality test, quantified 5% leakage deduction, and documented safeguards including FPIC and a grievance mechanism. However, the project-specific baseline, unaddressed reversal risk, absence of a buffer pool, and several cross-document contradictions (particularly on FNRB method and ERR figures across periods) limit confidence in the robustness of the credit claims. The project is at the end of its 10-year crediting period, and the lifetime ex-ante ERR estimate is not available in the extracted record, preventing a full pro-rata delivery check.

Red Flags

  • Reversal risk for biogas plants is explicitly 'not addressed' in the verification report, and no buffer pool percentage is stated — a material permanence gap for a project where plant failure or abandonment would reverse emissions reductions.
  • The FNRB method is reported as 'national_default' in the 2021 verification report but 'local_field' in the 2022 monitoring report, creating uncertainty about which basis was actually used for the final credit calculation.
  • The lifetime ex-ante ERR estimate is not found in the extracted record, making it impossible to verify whether the 40,668 tCO2e claimed for the 2021–2022 monitoring period is consistent with the original project design.
  • Multiple ERR figures across documents (40,668; 45,493; 48,551; 97,102) span different monitoring periods and cannot be reconciled into a single consistent trajectory without the PDD's ex-ante schedule.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
31,52531,5250
2013
48,55148,5510
2014
48,07948,04831
2015
46,23046,2300
2016
45,00144,445556
2017
44,23944,2390
2018
43,79043,7900
2019
44,00443,892112
2020
42,77542,232543
2021
40,92434,3696,555
2022
14,1813,07211,109
Total449,299430,39318,906

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Investment test, VVB-verified

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance, benefit-sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05AMS-I.E

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents