Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Improved Cookstoves for Social Impact in Ugandan Communities

GS-793 ↗ · current registry ID: GS447

#637of 1329 in Industrial#75of 163 in Uganda#966of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.9/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard cookstove project in Uganda has a fundamentally sound design with VVB-verified additionality and no reversal events, but is severely undermined by an extraordinary volume of material findings (over 60) and corrective actions (over 40) that point to persistent data-quality and reporting weaknesses. The project-specific baseline, absence of a stated buffer pool, a 13% gap between assumed and verified usage rates, and unresolved contradictions in ERR figures and leakage treatment collectively limit confidence in the integrity and safety of the claimed credits.

Red Flags

  • Over 60 material findings and 40+ corrective actions reported in the 2025 verification report, indicating systemic data-quality and reporting deficiencies
  • Usage rate assumed at 0.90 but verified at only 0.7793, a 13% gap that inflates ex-ante claims relative to observed performance
  • Contradiction in total ERR claimed: 994,730 tCO2e in the verification report versus 769,152 tCO2e in the monitoring report for the same period
  • Leakage justification shifted from 'deemed negligible' (Jan 2025) to 'quantified' (Dec 2025) within the same verification cycle, with a 0% deduction in both cases

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2007
14,97614,9760
2008
42,16142,14714
2009
109,310109,134176
2010
169,084169,0840
2011
220,542220,5420
2012
335,612335,6120
2013
482,134482,1340
2014
713,792712,6921,100
2015
711,962711,9620
2016
613,532613,5320
2017
787,747787,68958
2018
764,535762,2122,323
2019
759,570757,5482,022
2020
703,298693,07810,220
2021
1,078,3541,002,59675,758
2022
1,131,1531,026,058105,095
2023
1,053,423179,577873,846
2024
1,083,45372,1891,011,264
2025
629,5600629,560
Total11,404,1988,692,7622,711,436

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

no reversals

Leakage

0% deduction; justification inconsistent

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

Grievance & benefit-sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA & CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents