Skip to main content
CFCUrban Forest CarbonUnited StatesGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Indianapolis Indiana Forest Carbon Offsets

CFC-indianapolis-indiana-forest-ca ↗

#110of 389 in United States#42of 59 in City Forest Credits (CFC)

5.7/ 10
Integrity
7.0
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

The Eagle Creek Forest Legacy Initiative is a tree preservation project under the City Forest Credits standard with a VVB-confirmed additionality test, a quantified 18.3% leakage deduction, and a 10% buffer pool. However, the project verified its entire lifetime credit estimate (9,455 tCO₂e) in the first 3-year monitoring period—roughly 33 times the pro-rata expectation for the elapsed period—raising significant over-crediting concerns. Several key parameters (FNRB, usage monitoring, CORSIA/CCP status) are absent from the record, and a contradiction exists between the PDD and validation report on the total credit quantity.

Red Flags

  • The first monitoring period (3 of 100 years) verified 9,455 tCO₂e, which equals 100% of the lifetime ex-ante estimate—approximately 33× the pro-rata expectation of ~284 tCO₂e for the elapsed period, indicating a potential over-crediting or methodology structuring issue.
  • The PDD (Aug 2024) lists a total ERR of 10,505 while the validation report (Oct 2024) lists 9,455; the 1,050-credit discrepancy is unexplained in the available documents.
  • The verification report states reversal events were 'not addressed' while the validation report states 'none reported'; the 10% reversal pool mechanism (1,051 credits contributed) is described in the detail field but the status is inconsistent across documents.
  • Baseline is project-specific with no documented reassessment date, and the 100-year permanence claim for a tree preservation project carries inherent risk despite the buffer pool.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2025
5,13005,130
Total5,13005,130

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

reversal status inconsistent across docs

Leakage

18.3% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

Mentioned but FPIC and grievance mechanism not detailed

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents