Skip to main content
GSBiogasKenyaVintage 2022 Registry: Certified & creditingGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Kenya Biogas Programme

GS-1652 ↗ · current registry ID: GS5801

#83of 268 in Biogas#54of 157 in Kenya#725of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.1/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

The Kenya Biogas Programme is a Gold Standard-certified project with a VVB-confirmed barrier additionality test and a measured project-specific baseline, but it is undermined by the absence of any documented buffer pool or permanence mechanism, an unresolved contradiction in leakage treatment (0% vs 10%), and a delivery rate of only about 25% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the most recent monitoring period. The project's safeguards documentation (FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing) is present in the latest verification report but was absent in earlier documents, and 15 cross-document contradictions reduce confidence in data consistency.

Red Flags

  • 15 contradictions across documents, including a direct conflict on leakage treatment (0% in the 2019 verification report vs 10% in the 2021 monitoring report) and on claimed ERR (26,310 vs 10,124)
  • No buffer pool or permanence mechanism is documented, and reversal events are explicitly marked as 'not addressed' in the extracted record
  • The project delivered approximately 25% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2023–2024 monitoring period (14,525 verified vs ~57,870 expected), raising questions about the robustness of the original ex-ante estimate
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
3,4803,4800
2018
6,5346,5340
2019
10,99210,788204
2020
13,30413,073231
2021
14,53114,227304
2022
15,56412,7062,858
2023
11,95369711,256
2024
2,13702,137
Total78,49561,50516,990

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed barrier test

Permanence

reversals not addressed

Leakage

0% deduction contradicted by 10% in 2021 report

Baseline

Project-specific, measured, reassessed 2021

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents