Skip to main content
GSBiomass, or Liquid Biofuel - CogenerationBulgariaAMS-I.C

Methane Gas Capture and Electricity Production at Kubratovo Wastewater Treatment Plant, Sofia, Bulgaria

GS-719 ↗ · current registry ID: GS4238

#146of 352 in Biomass#1of 6 in Bulgaria#1183of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#47of 115 in AMS-I.C

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.0
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

A long-operating methane capture and cogeneration project at a Sofia wastewater treatment plant with inherent permanence (no carbon storage), but the verification record reveals extensive material findings, a requirement for a supplementary audit with a different team, and a contradiction on whether additionality was VVB-verified. The project over-delivers relative to its ex-ante estimate, and the grid emission factor discrepancy appears conservative, but data quality issues across documents undermine confidence in the MRV chain.

Red Flags

  • The 2025 verification report states additionality was NOT verified by the VVB, while the 2025 monitoring report states it was — an unresolved contradiction on a core integrity criterion
  • The verification report requires a supplementary audit with a new team leader and an entirely different team for the next verification, indicating systemic quality concerns in the verification process
  • Grid emission factor differs by 2.5× between the 2025 verification report (0.4 tCO₂/MWh) and the 2023 monitoring report (1.019 tCO₂/MWh), with no documented explanation for the discrepancy
  • 18 corrective actions remain open, including missing calibration protocols, absent meter documentation, and inconsistent emission-reduction values between the PDD and calculation sheets
  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the verification report says 'quantified' while the monitoring report says 'deemed negligible', yet the deduction is 0% in both

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2014
44,97544,764211
2015
58,91258,83874
2016
67,82558,1139,712
2017
78,17632,59045,586
2018
78,95740,62238,335
2019
69,70265,6314,071
2020
75,71074,860850
2021
72,52052,52020,000
2022
61,64261,6420
2023
74,61019,14955,461
2024
15,595015,595
Total698,624508,729189,895

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Investment test present but VVB verification unconfirmed per 2025 VR

Permanence

Methane converted to electricity on-site; no storage or reversal risk

Leakage

0% deduction; justification contradictory between VR and MR

Baseline

Project-specific measured baseline; reassessed 2021; not jurisdictional

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing documented; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in extracted record

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05AMS-I.C ver. 21.0; AMS-III.H ver. 19; AMS-I.F Ver. 03.0

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents