National Bio Energy Changtu Biomass Power Plant
GS-392 ↗ · current registry ID: GS2503
#95of 352 in Biomass#584of 1084 in China#730of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#332of 806 in AMS-I.D
Audit Analysis
The Changtu biomass power plant has VVB-confirmed additionality via an investment test and delivered approximately 105% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2019–2022 monitoring period, which is reasonable. However, the project is undermined by contradictory baseline and leakage characterisations across documents, a project-specific baseline with no recorded reassessment, six outstanding corrective actions, and the absence of a buffer pool, LCA, or feedstock sustainability documentation.
Red Flags
- Six corrective actions remain open, including inconsistent weight-meter calibration data and an incorrect Net Calorific Value for biomass type k reported in the monitoring report
- Leakage justification is contradictory: the verification report states it was 'quantified' while the monitoring report states it was 'deemed negligible', yet the deduction is 0% in both cases
- Baseline method is contradictory: the verification report classifies it as project-specific while the monitoring report calls it jurisdictional
- Crediting period end date is missing in the 2023 verification report (stated as open-ended), conflicting with the PDD's stated end date of 2022-04-03
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | 56,721 | 12,240 | 44,481 | |
| 2013 | 71,325 | 71,238 | 87 | |
| 2014 | 76,728 | 6,588 | 70,140 | |
| 2015 | 69,860 | 64,178 | 5,682 | |
| 2016 | 87,915 | 75,395 | 12,520 | |
| 2017 | 79,560 | 79,371 | 189 | |
| 2018 | 75,016 | 74,694 | 322 | |
| 2019 | 72,551 | 12,688 | 59,863 | |
| 2020 | 71,365 | 5,164 | 66,201 | |
| 2021 | 72,723 | 1,604 | 71,119 | |
| 2022 | 12,406 | 248 | 12,158 | |
| Total | 746,170 | 403,408 | 342,762 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
low inherent reversal risk for biomass electricity
0% deduction with contradictory justification across documents
Project-specific baseline; no reassessment date recorded; method contradictory across docs
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing mentioned, but FPIC not stated; CAR on grievance reporting
CCP and CORSIA status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →