Skip to main content
VCSAgriculture Forestry and Other Land UseUganda Registry: RegisteredAR-ACM0001

Natural High Forest Rehabilitation Project on degraded land of Kibale National Park

VCS-673 ↗

#107of 261 in Soil carbon#76of 163 in Uganda#805of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#3of 8 in AR-ACM0001

4.9/ 10
Integrity
5.2
Transparency
4.8
Claim Safety
5.3
Documentation
3.8

Audit Analysis

A long-running (60-year) forest rehabilitation project in Kibale National Park with VVB-confirmed additionality, a 15% buffer pool, and no reported reversals, but burdened by an extensive list of material findings including a methodology deviation in biomass conversion factors, a significant planting-area shortfall (4,025 ha vs. 6,000 ha planned), a mid-project proponent change, and documentation that was formally deemed incomplete and non-conforming. The project over-delivered relative to its pro-rata ex-ante expectation (≈175 %), which is reassuring, yet the project-specific baseline, unquantified 0 % leakage deduction, and low extraction confidence across 49 source documents limit confidence in the underlying data.

Red Flags

  • Planting area shortfall: actual planted area of 4,025 ha is 33 % below the 6,000 ha planned in the PDD, raising over-crediting risk if the ex-ante estimate was not proportionally revised
  • Methodology deviation: incorrect fresh-to-dry-weight conversion factors (branch factors used instead of stem biomass factors) led to underestimation of carbon stock in earlier periods; correction applied but historical credits may be affected
  • Project proponent changed from Face the Future to GreenChoice during the monitoring period, with additionality implications not fully clarified
  • Leakage deduction of 0 % justified only as 'deemed negligible' without a quantified assessment, which is thin for a 6,000-ha forest project in a high-biodiversity national park
  • Documentation formally deemed incomplete and of insufficient quality; joint CCB-VCS verification template used instead of separate VCS templates; two Forward Action Requests remain open

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2009
372,381372,29685
2011
173,015173,0150
2014
229,902229,81785
2017
199,544197,2812,263
2020
29,11319,2499,864
2021
34,93534,92114
2022
34,93522,09712,838
2023
5,8225,8220
Total1,079,6471,054,49825,149

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

15 % buffer, no reversals

Leakage

0 % deduction, qualitative justification only

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-09AR-ACM0001

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents