Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 31
GS-3310 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11289
#185of 1329 in Industrial#19of 157 in Kenya#330of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Kenya demonstrates a verified additionality case and consistent claimed/verified ERR figures, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, an unaddressed leakage justification, absence of a buffer pool, and a substantial list of 17 corrective actions. The lack of an ex-ante lifetime estimate prevents a meaningful pro-rata delivery check, and several contradictions across verification and monitoring reports reduce confidence in data reliability.
Red Flags
- Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, contradicting an earlier 'deemed negligible' statement — no quantified or qualitatively justified treatment of leakage for a project where users may revert to previous water sources
- No buffer pool or permanence mechanism identified in any available document, leaving reversal risk (e.g., system disuse or breakdown) unmitigated
- 17 corrective actions required by the VVB, including sampling design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, missing deviation documentation, and incomplete safeguard reporting — indicating material MRV and governance gaps
- No ex-ante lifetime ERR estimate found in the extracted record, making it impossible to assess whether the 1,023,164 tCO₂e claimed for the December 2024 monitoring period is proportionate to the 5-year crediting period
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 49,126 | 49,126 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 41,243 | 26,191 | 15,052 | |
| 2023 | 38,203 | 0 | 38,203 | |
| 2024 | 53,060 | 0 | 53,060 | |
| Total | 181,632 | 75,317 | 106,315 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
no reversal events but no mitigation mechanism
0% deduction; justification 'not addressed' in 2024 VR
Project-specific; no reassessment date stated
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; corrective actions on safeguard reporting
CORSIA and CCP status both not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →