Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 33

GS-3312 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11291

#794of 1329 in Industrial#94of 157 in Kenya#1186of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme (VPA 33, Kenya) has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a functioning grievance mechanism, but is undermined by a verified emission reduction figure that is roughly 25 times the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the monitoring period, a project-specific baseline with no documented reassessment, no buffer pool or permanence data, and 22 corrective actions flagged by the VVB. Multiple contradictions between the 2024 and 2025 verification reports on ERR figures, FNRB method, and safeguards further erode confidence in the data reliability.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 1,462,277 tCO₂e for a single 12-month monitoring period is approximately 24.7× the pro-rata ex-ante expectation of ~59,312 tCO₂e (296,560 lifetime ÷ 5-year crediting period), raising serious over-crediting concerns
  • 22 corrective actions required by the VVB, including fundamental sampling methodology deficiencies (stratified random sampling not meeting CDM Appendix 3 requirements) and a discrepancy in reported employee count (44 vs 47)
  • No buffer pool percentage or permanence period stated in any available document, leaving reversal risk unaddressed
  • Contradiction in FNRB method: the 2025 verification report states 'national_default' while the 2024 monitoring report states 'local_field', creating uncertainty about which emission factors were actually applied
  • Leakage deduction of 0% justified only as 'deemed negligible' without quantitative analysis, in a project where households could revert to open-flame cooking or unsafe water sources

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
55,13955,1390
2022
47,72946,776953
2023
47,295047,295
2024
53,349053,349
Total203,512101,915101,597

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, 'deemed negligible' without quantitative analysis

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, no reassessment date documented

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; contradiction in reporting

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents