Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 35

GS-3314 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11293

#1031of 1329 in Industrial#132of 157 in Kenya#1472of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.3/ 10
Integrity
3.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a conservative national-default FNRB, but is undermined by an unaddressed 0% leakage deduction, a project-specific baseline with no reassessment record, and 24 outstanding corrective actions spanning sampling methodology, operational-day calculations, and bias risks in chlorine tablet usage. The material finding that actual emission reductions fall below the registered PDD estimates, combined with multiple inter-document contradictions, raises meaningful over-crediting concerns.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the most recent verification report (Sep 2024), while an earlier report (Apr 2023) claimed it was 'deemed negligible' — the more recent and authoritative document provides no substantive justification.
  • 24 corrective actions remain open, including stratified random sampling non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, potential systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage leading to overestimation of ERs, and missing signed population confirmation letters.
  • Material finding in the Sep 2024 verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante estimates in the registered PDD, yet the verified figure equals the claimed figure with no downward adjustment applied.
  • Buffer pool percentage and reversal event history are not stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk unquantified.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
55,75855,7580
2022
48,65313,12535,528
2023
44,924044,924
2024
56,267056,267
Total205,60268,883136,719

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification not addressed

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present, FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents