Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 40

GS-3319 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11298

#277of 1329 in Industrial#29of 157 in Kenya#454of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.4/ 10
Integrity
5.2
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.8
Documentation
5.2

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and an active monitoring regime, but is undermined by a 0% leakage deduction with no justification in the most recent verification report, the absence of any buffer pool or permanence mechanism for water infrastructure, and a lengthy list of 22 corrective actions and 4 material findings that point to recurring MRV and documentation gaps. The project-specific baseline and the exact match between claimed and verified ERR figures (1,023,164 tCO₂e) warrant caution, though the verified usage rate (0.9625) exceeding the assumed rate (0.90) is a positive conservatism signal.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the September 2024 verification report, superseding an earlier 'deemed negligible' statement — no quantitative or qualitative leakage analysis is on file.
  • No buffer pool or permanence mechanism is documented for a water-infrastructure project where equipment failure or disuse could reverse credits; reversal events are not stated in available documents.
  • 22 corrective actions and 4 material findings (FARs) remain open, including sampling-design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, potential systemic bias in chlorine-tablet usage, and missing operational-day evidence.
  • The claimed and verified ERR figures are identical (1,023,164 tCO₂e), and no lifetime ex-ante estimate is available to benchmark pro-rata delivery against the 60-month crediting period.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
55,18555,1850
2022
46,70936,00910,700
2023
46,53330,02316,510
2024
53,044053,044
Total201,471121,21780,254

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification not addressed in latest report

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated; dual-channel risk unexcluded

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents