Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 42

GS-3321 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11300

#922of 1329 in Industrial#114of 157 in Kenya#1346of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.5/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
3.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and no material findings, but is undermined by a 0% leakage deduction with no justification, a project-specific baseline with no reassessment date, and 17 corrective actions flagged by the verifier. The exact match between claimed and verified ERR (1,023,164 tCO₂e) for an 11-month monitoring window within a 60-month crediting period raises serious over-crediting concerns.

Red Flags

  • Claimed and verified ERR are identical (1,023,164 tCO₂e) despite the monitoring period covering only 11 of 60 crediting months, implying the project delivered ~545% of the pro-rata expectation — a strong indicator of over-crediting or a data error
  • Leakage deduction is 0% and the 2024 verification report records the justification as 'not addressed', while the earlier 2023 report called it 'deemed negligible' — the more recent and authoritative document is the less favourable one
  • 17 corrective actions were required by the VVB, including sampling-design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, missing deviation documentation, and incomplete safeguard reporting
  • No buffer pool percentage, no baseline reassessment date, and no FPIC record were found in any available document

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
55,05855,0580
2022
48,497048,497
2023
49,287049,287
2024
58,371058,371
Total211,21355,058156,155

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

no reversal events recorded

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed'

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; 17 corrective actions

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents