Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya - VPA 56

GS-4234 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12258

#323of 1329 in Industrial#34of 157 in Kenya#531of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has VVB-confirmed additionality and a named verification body, but suffers from a project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment date, a 0% leakage deduction whose justification is contradictory across documents, and a material finding that actual emission reductions fall below ex-ante estimates. The absence of a buffer pool, combined with six outstanding corrective actions on monitoring methodology, leaves meaningful gaps in permanence and over-crediting safeguards.

Red Flags

  • Material finding in the verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante estimates in the registered PDD, yet the verified figure (1,023,164) exactly matches the claimed figure, raising questions about whether the verification independently recalculated reductions.
  • Leakage deduction is 0% with the verification report recording the justification as 'not addressed,' while the monitoring report claims it was 'deemed negligible' — a direct contradiction that weakens the leakage treatment.
  • Six corrective actions remain open, including requirements to justify monitoring gaps, eliminate potential bias in chlorine tablet usage, and collect signed population confirmations from each institution.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
16,02912,2793,750
2024
37,036037,036
Total53,06512,27940,786

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

no reversal events reported

Leakage

0% deduction; justification contradictory across documents

Baseline

Project-specific; no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC not stated; CAR on safeguarding assessment

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents