Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya - VPA 57

GS-4218 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12259

#391of 1329 in Industrial#44of 157 in Kenya#631of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-verified investment additionality test and no reversal events, but is undermined by a material finding that actual emission reductions fall below ex-ante estimates, a 0% leakage deduction whose justification is absent in the verification report, and the absence of any buffer pool. The exact match between claimed and verified ERR figures (1,023,164 tCO₂e) despite the stated under-delivery raises serious questions about the integrity of the verification arithmetic. Six corrective actions remain open, signalling unresolved MRV and documentation gaps.

Red Flags

  • Material finding in the verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante PDD estimates, yet the verified ERR figure (1,023,164) is identical to the claimed figure — the under-delivery is not reflected in the verified number.
  • Leakage deduction is 0% and the verification report records the justification as 'not addressed'; the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible' is not corroborated by the higher-priority verification document.
  • Six corrective actions remain unresolved, including stratified sampling compliance, monitoring-gap justification, and population confirmation letters — all of which affect the reliability of the verified ERR.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
14,584014,584
2024
42,940042,940
Total57,524057,524

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified investment test

Permanence

no reversals but no safety margin

Leakage

0% deduction; justification not addressed per verification report

Baseline

Project-specific; no reassessment date found

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents