Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya - VPA 59

GS-4223 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12261

#324of 1329 in Industrial#35of 157 in Kenya#532of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has VVB-confirmed additionality and a named verification body, but suffers from a 0% leakage deduction with no coherent justification, no buffer pool or permanence mechanism, and a material finding that actual emission reductions fall below the ex-ante PDD estimates. Six corrective actions remain open, indicating monitoring and documentation gaps that undermine confidence in the verified figures.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction is 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible' — no quantitative or qualitative basis is provided
  • No buffer pool or permanence mechanism is documented for a 5-year crediting period, leaving no financial backstop against potential reversal
  • Material finding in the verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante PDD estimates, yet the verified figure (1,023,164 tCO₂e) exactly matches the claimed figure, raising questions about whether the VVB applied sufficient conservatism
  • Six corrective actions remain open, including requirements to justify monitoring gaps, eliminate systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage, and collect signed population confirmations from each institution

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
11,82211,8220
2024
43,273043,273
Total55,09511,82243,273

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification contradictory/missing

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC not stated; CAR on safeguarding assessment

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents