Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 01

GS-3280 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11259

#394of 1329 in Industrial#12of 79 in Nigeria#634of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed additionality test and no reported reversals, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction with a contradictory justification, two material findings flagging potential overestimation, and 23 corrective actions. Multiple contradictions across verification reports—particularly in the FNRB value (82.3 vs 0.96) and method (national default vs local field)—raise concerns about the robustness of the credit calculation. The absence of an ex-ante lifetime ERR figure prevents a definitive pro-rata delivery check.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2025 report) — a method and value shift that materially affects credit volume and is not explained in the extracted record
  • Material Finding FAR#2 explicitly warns of 'systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage leading to overestimation of emission reduction', directly threatening claim integrity
  • 23 corrective actions required in the 2025 verification report, including substantive gaps in sampling design, monitoring continuity, and evidence for treatment capacity values
  • Leakage justification contradicts itself across reports: 'deemed negligible' (March 2025) vs 'not addressed' (July 2024), with a 0% deduction throughout

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
52,91652,9160
2022
54,28353,1991,084
2023
43,85840,6693,189
2024
35,6955,36730,328
Total186,752152,15134,601

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

no reversals but no permanence mechanism documented

Leakage

0% deduction; justification contradicts earlier report

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; earlier report inconsistent

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated; dual-channel risk unconfirmed

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents