Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 02
GS-3281 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11260
#731of 1329 in Industrial#40of 79 in Nigeria#1096of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-verified investment additionality test and no reported reversal events, but suffers from a 0% leakage deduction with no documented justification, a project-specific baseline that contained Kenya-to-Nigeria parameter errors, and 22 corrective actions flagged by the VVB. Multiple contradictions across verification periods—particularly in the FNRB value and method, and in total emission reductions—undermine confidence in the data's internal consistency. The absence of an ex-ante lifetime estimate prevents a meaningful pro-rata over-crediting check.
Red Flags
- Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, while the monitoring report claims it was 'deemed negligible'—no quantitative or qualitative leakage analysis is documented
- Corrective actions reveal baseline parameters were erroneously copied from a Kenyan project (xf, EFb, water sources, stove technologies), raising questions about whether the Nigerian baseline was properly adapted
- FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field, 2023) to 82.3 (national default, 2024) with a simultaneous method change, and total ERR nearly doubled from 647,669 to 1,232,137 between verification periods without an ex-ante lifetime estimate to anchor the comparison
- 22 corrective actions and multiple FARs (sampling methodology, chlorine tablet bias, operational-day identification) indicate significant monitoring-report quality issues that the VVB had to flag
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 48,909 | 48,909 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 55,145 | 54,043 | 1,102 | |
| 2023 | 44,158 | 40,719 | 3,439 | |
| 2024 | 38,262 | 0 | 38,262 | |
| Total | 186,474 | 143,671 | 42,803 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
Avoidance project, no reversals
0% deduction, justification not addressed
Project-specific, Kenya-to-Nigeria errors
Grievance & benefit-sharing present, FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →