Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 04

GS-3283 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11262

#988of 1329 in Industrial#63of 79 in Nigeria#1417of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.4/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
3.5
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-verified investment additionality test and a conservative usage-rate assumption, but is undermined by an extensive list of 22 corrective actions, 8 material findings on sampling and bias, a 0% leakage deduction with no substantive justification, and a critical FNRB contradiction (82.3 vs 0.96) between verification reports. The exact match between claimed and verified ERR figures raises over-crediting concerns, and the absence of a buffer pool or stated permanence mechanism leaves residual risk unaddressed.

Red Flags

  • Claimed and verified ERR figures are identical (1,232,137 tCO2e), suggesting the VVB did not independently recalculate or adjust the project's estimate
  • FNRB value contradicts itself across verification reports: 82.3 (national default, 2024) vs 0.96 (local field, 2023) — an approximately 85-fold discrepancy that cannot be reconciled from available documents
  • Leakage deduction is 0% with the justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, despite the monitoring report claiming it was 'deemed negligible'
  • 22 corrective actions and 8 material findings indicate systemic weaknesses in the monitoring and reporting methodology, including sampling design, chlorine-tablet usage bias, and operational-day accounting

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
52,13052,1300
2022
52,47751,4291,048
2023
41,77838,6453,133
2024
34,381034,381
Total180,766142,20438,562

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' in VVB report

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Safeguards and grievance mechanism mentioned; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents