Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 05
GS-3284 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11263
#1085of 1329 in Industrial#69of 79 in Nigeria#1533of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard safe-water project in Nigeria with VVB-confirmed additionality but significant documentation and methodological concerns, including a 24-item corrective action list, a large FNRB discrepancy between reporting periods, and a 0% leakage deduction whose justification is contradicted across documents. The project's scope appears to blend cookstove and water activities under a water-only methodology, raising over-crediting risk.
Red Flags
- FNRB value differs by a factor of ~85 between the 2023 verification report (0.96, local field method) and the 2024 verification report (82.3, national default), with no documented explanation for the change
- 24 corrective actions required by the VVB, including Kenya baseline parameters appearing in a Nigerian project, parameter value errors, and sampling methodology non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3
- Leakage deduction of 0% with contradictory justification: the 2024 verification report states leakage was 'not addressed' while the 2024 monitoring report claims it was 'deemed negligible'
- Project name in the verification report is 'Improved Cookstove and Safe Water Programme' but the registered methodology covers only safe drinking water supply, suggesting scope beyond the approved methodology
- Claimed and verified ERR figures are identical (1,232,137 tCO₂e) in the 2024 verification report, indicating no independent recalculation or adjustment by the VVB
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 52,931 | 52,931 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 57,881 | 30,170 | 27,711 | |
| 2023 | 50,718 | 46,674 | 4,044 | |
| 2024 | 44,704 | 0 | 44,704 | |
| Total | 206,234 | 129,775 | 76,459 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, justification contradicted across documents
Project-specific baseline, reassessment timing not stated
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present, FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →