Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 10

GS-3289 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11268

#732of 1329 in Industrial#41of 79 in Nigeria#1097of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
4.3
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a confirmed investment-test additionality and a conservative verified usage rate (96.84% vs 90% assumed), but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, an unaddressed leakage justification, the absence of any buffer pool, and a verification report containing 22 corrective actions including cross-country reference errors (Kenya in a Nigerian project). The overall MRV quality is moderate with notable gaps in permanence safeguards and baseline robustness.

Red Flags

  • Verification report (2024-07-25) contains references to Kenya for baseline parameters in a Nigerian project, indicating a template or copy-paste error that undermines confidence in the MRV calculations
  • Leakage deduction is 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible' — no quantitative or qualitative leakage analysis is documented
  • 22 corrective actions were required by the VVB, including wrong parameter values, incorrect dates, and sampling methodology that does not meet CDM Appendix 3 requirements
  • The ex-ante lifetime ERR estimate is not found in any document, preventing a meaningful pro-rata delivery check against the 1,232,137 tCO₂e verified for the 11-month monitoring period

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
56,74956,7490
2022
51,19027,83523,355
2023
45,173045,173
2024
39,630039,630
Total192,74284,584108,158

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Investment test confirmed by VVB

Permanence

no reversal events but no safeguard

Leakage

0% deduction with justification 'not addressed'

Baseline

Project-specific; no reassessment date documented

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents