Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 16
GS-3295 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11274
#798of 1329 in Industrial#46of 79 in Nigeria#1190of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a named verification body, but is undermined by a severe FNRB contradiction (82.3 national default vs. 0.96 local field measurement across two verification reports), an unaddressed leakage justification, the absence of any buffer pool or permanence mechanism, and 22 outstanding corrective actions. The project's claim safety is materially weakened by the FNRB discrepancy, which could represent an order-of-magnitude over-crediting risk if the lower local-field value is the correct one.
Red Flags
- FNRB value contradicts between the 2023 verification report (0.96, local field measurement) and the 2024 verification report (82.3, national default) — an approximately 86-fold difference that is not explained in the extracted record and could indicate a unit error or a material change in the baseline emission factor.
- Leakage deduction is 0% and the verification report (2024-07-25) records the justification as 'not addressed,' while the monitoring report (2024-07-23) claims it is 'deemed negligible' — the higher-priority VVB document does not support the negligible claim.
- No buffer pool percentage, no permanence claim period, and no reversal-event record are found in any available document, leaving the project's permanence and reversal risk entirely unquantified.
- 22 corrective actions remain open, including requirements to fix baseline parameter references (Kenya vs. Nigeria), correct a Cb parameter value, justify sampling design, and provide evidence for treatment capacity values — indicating the monitoring and verification chain has not yet been fully closed.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 53,878 | 53,878 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 45,412 | 42,280 | 3,132 | |
| 2023 | 43,558 | 0 | 43,558 | |
| 2024 | 40,263 | 0 | 40,263 | |
| Total | 183,111 | 96,158 | 86,953 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, justification not addressed per VVB
Project-specific, FNRB contradicts between reports
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →