Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 20

GS-3299 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11278

#799of 1329 in Industrial#47of 79 in Nigeria#1191of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a named verification body, but suffers from significant MRV quality issues including 22 corrective actions, an unaddressed leakage justification, a project-specific baseline with no reassessment date, and a major FNRB discrepancy between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports. No buffer pool or permanence mechanism is documented for the water infrastructure, and the absence of an LCA and CORSIA/CCP clarity adds further uncertainty to the credit's robustness.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 report) — a discrepancy of roughly 86× that is unexplained and could indicate a unit error or fundamental methodology shift
  • Leakage justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible'
  • 22 corrective actions required by the VVB, including sampling design non-compliance, typographical errors referencing Kenya instead of Nigeria, and missing evidence for treatment capacity values
  • No buffer pool, permanence mechanism, or reversal-risk mitigation documented for the water infrastructure over the 5-year crediting period
  • Project-specific baseline with no reassessment date stated in any available document

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
56,74944,04012,709
2022
51,373051,373
2023
46,197046,197
2024
40,409040,409
Total194,72844,040150,688

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' per VVB

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date found

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents