Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 23
GS-3302 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11281
#800of 1329 in Industrial#48of 79 in Nigeria#1192of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and verified usage rates exceeding assumptions, but is undermined by a dramatic FNRB discrepancy between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports (0.96 local-field vs 82.3 national-default), an unaddressed 0% leakage deduction, the absence of any documented buffer pool or permanence mechanism, and 24 corrective actions flagged by the VVB. Data reliability is further weakened by multiple cross-report contradictions and a medium extraction confidence level.
Red Flags
- FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local-field, 2023 verification report) to 82.3 (national-default, 2024 verification report) — an 86-fold discrepancy that fundamentally alters the emission-reduction calculation basis
- Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible'
- No buffer pool percentage or permanence mechanism documented in any available report, leaving reversal risk unmitigated
- 24 corrective actions required by the VVB, including sampling-design non-compliance, potential systemic bias in chlorine-tablet usage, and incorrect baseline parameters (Kenya references in a Nigerian project)
- Total ERR figures differ between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports (647,669 vs 1,232,137) and no lifetime ex-ante estimate is available to benchmark pro-rata delivery
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 52,183 | 52,183 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 48,369 | 19,545 | 28,824 | |
| 2023 | 43,167 | 0 | 43,167 | |
| 2024 | 37,963 | 0 | 37,963 | |
| Total | 181,682 | 71,728 | 109,954 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' per VVB
Project-specific baseline, no reassessment date stated
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →