Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 24

GS-3303 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11282

#801of 1329 in Industrial#49of 79 in Nigeria#1193of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed additionality assessment and a named verification body, but suffers from significant data reliability issues including a major FNRB discrepancy between reporting periods, an unaddressed leakage justification, and a project-specific baseline with no stated buffer pool. The exact match between claimed and verified emission reductions, combined with 24 corrective actions, raises concerns about verification rigor.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field measurement, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 report) — a discrepancy of over 80x if in the same units, or a 14-percentage-point shift if expressed differently; the methodological basis also changed between reports
  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible'
  • Total ERR claimed equals total ERR verified exactly (1,232,137 tCO₂e) with zero VVB adjustment, despite 24 corrective actions and multiple material findings on sampling methodology and potential bias
  • Baseline is project-specific with no documented reassessment date, and the 2024 report references Kenya baseline parameters that should reference Nigeria

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
52,03252,0320
2022
45,59944,688911
2023
40,809040,809
2024
40,810040,810
Total179,25096,72082,530

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' in VVB report

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents