Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 27

GS-3306 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11285

#396of 1329 in Industrial#14of 79 in Nigeria#636of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.0
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.8
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a verified usage rate exceeding the assumed value, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, an unaddressed leakage justification, the absence of any buffer pool, and 22 corrective actions flagged by the VVB. Multiple contradictions between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports—particularly in the FNRB value and method—raise data-reliability concerns that limit confidence in the claimed emission reductions.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction is 0% and the verification report (2024-07-25) records the justification as 'not addressed', while the monitoring report (2024-07-23) claims it is 'deemed negligible'—no quantitative or qualitative leakage analysis is documented.
  • No buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document for a 5-year crediting period, leaving no quantified protection against potential reversal of water-supply infrastructure.
  • The FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field measurement, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 report), a discrepancy of nearly two orders of magnitude that is not explained in the extracted record.
  • 22 corrective actions were required by the VVB, including errors in baseline parameters (Kenya references in a Nigerian project), incorrect Cb values, and missing sampling-design details, indicating significant quality-control weaknesses in the monitoring process.
  • The ex-ante lifetime ERR estimate is not stated in any available document, preventing a pro-rata over- or under-delivery check against the 1,232,137 tCO₂e verified for the 2023 monitoring period.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
54,25054,2500
2022
50,35249,3461,006
2023
42,097042,097
2024
36,537036,537
Total183,236103,59679,640

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

no reversal events but no quantified protection

Leakage

0% deduction; justification 'not addressed' per verification report

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; no reassessment date recorded

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents