Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 30
GS-3309 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11288
#279of 1329 in Industrial#5of 79 in Nigeria#456of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and verified usage rates that exceed assumptions, but is undermined by an unaddressed leakage justification, a project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment, the absence of any buffer pool, and a large set of corrective actions (24 items) flagged by the VVB. Significant contradictions between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports—particularly in the FNRB value and method—raise data-reliability concerns that temper confidence in the claimed emission reductions.
Red Flags
- Leakage deduction is 0% and the verification report (2024-07-25) records the justification as 'not addressed', while the monitoring report (2024-07-23) claims it is 'deemed negligible'—the higher-priority VVB document does not support the negligible claim.
- FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field measurement, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 report), a method and magnitude shift that is not explained in the extracted record.
- 24 corrective actions were required by the VVB, including sampling-design non-compliance, typographical errors referencing the wrong country (Kenya instead of Nigeria), and missing deviation-request documentation.
- total_err_exante_lifetime is not available in the extracted record, preventing a reliable pro-rata comparison of verified versus expected reductions.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 51,009 | 51,009 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 53,256 | 19,360 | 33,896 | |
| 2023 | 40,929 | 0 | 40,929 | |
| 2024 | 34,764 | 0 | 34,764 | |
| Total | 179,958 | 70,369 | 109,589 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
infrastructure project lowers reversal risk
0% deduction; VVB records justification as not addressed
Project-specific; no reassessment date stated
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →