TASC Clean Cooking PoA – VPA 3 (Zambia)
GS-3649 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11596
#735of 1329 in Industrial#15of 33 in Zambia#1105of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The TASC Clean Cooking VPA 3 project in Zambia has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and no reported reversal events, but is undermined by a 0% leakage deduction, a project-specific baseline, a contradiction on whether FPIC was conducted, and a heavy load of 21 corrective actions and 16 material findings that point to significant data-quality and documentation gaps. Multiple ERR figures conflict across documents, making it difficult to confirm the true verified emission reductions. Overall, the project shows a reasonable design but weak execution and verification rigour.
Red Flags
- FPIC status is contradictory: the September 2022 validation report states FPIC was not conducted, while the earlier February 2022 report says it was; the more recent document is privileged, leaving a safeguard gap for a project serving vulnerable rural households.
- Leakage deduction is 0% despite the verification report describing the justification as 'quantified' — a quantified assessment yielding zero is internally inconsistent for a clean-cooking project where displaced fuelwood could be consumed by other households.
- The verified ERR figure is 718,479 tCO₂e in the June 2024 monitoring report but 882,022 tCO₂e in the January 2024 verification report; a 23% discrepancy between the two authoritative documents undermines confidence in the credit quantity.
- The ex-ante lifetime ERR is 1,095,531 tCO₂e in the monitoring report but 2,100,276 tCO₂e in an undated appendix — a near 2× gap that makes pro-rata delivery checks unreliable.
- 21 corrective actions were required, including substantive items such as demonstrating the mandatory usage-rate requirement with evidence and clarifying additionality compliance with CSA requirements, indicating the verification process identified material gaps that were not fully resolved before issuance.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 35,307 | 200 | 35,107 | |
| 2022 | 317,580 | 195,648 | 121,932 | |
| 2023 | 891,027 | 379,581 | 511,446 | |
| 2024 | 496,823 | 0 | 496,823 | |
| Total | 1,740,737 | 575,429 | 1,165,308 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-verified combined test
no reversals
0% deduction, justification inconsistent
Project-specific; reassessment not stated
Grievance present; FPIC not conducted
CCP and CORSIA status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →