Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme, Uganda – CPA No 013

GS-2900 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10911

#740of 1329 in Industrial#92of 163 in Uganda#1111of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The Up Energy Improved Cookstoves project in Uganda has a verified additionality assessment and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by 12 cross-document contradictions, 16 material findings, and a dramatic FNRB revision (0.82 to 0.39) that raises serious data-reliability concerns. The project delivered roughly 3.4× the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, which, while not inherently problematic, combined with a project-specific baseline and no stated buffer pool, elevates over-crediting risk. Documentation is voluminous (48 documents) but riddled with inconsistencies that erode confidence in the verified figures.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value changed from 0.82 (local field, 2025 verification report) to 0.39 (national default, 2026 verification report) — a 52% reduction that materially alters credit quantities and suggests either a methodological correction or a prior over-estimate
  • 12 contradictions across documents, including conflicting crediting periods (2019–2026 vs 2024–2029), inconsistent ERR figures (119,997 vs 136,398 vs 159,978), and conflicting FPIC status (false in 2023, true in 2025)
  • 16 material findings and 17 corrective actions spanning monitoring records, ER spreadsheet errors, circular references, and missing methodology citations indicate systemic data-quality weaknesses
  • CORSIA eligibility is not stated in any document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
27,44613,72313,723
2021
34,93734,601336
2022
42,64041,789851
2023
41,501041,501
2024
35,598035,598
Total182,12290,11392,009

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

no reversals

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC inconsistent

Double-claim

CCP eligible; CORSIA not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents