Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme, Uganda – CPA No 019

GS-2906 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10917

#647of 1329 in Industrial#77of 163 in Uganda#986of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.9/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme in Uganda has a sound core methodology with VVB-verified additionality, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reported reversal events. However, the project is significantly undermined by 12 cross-document contradictions, 18+ material findings, 18 corrective actions, the absence of a buffer pool, and a verified delivery rate of roughly 336% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, raising over-crediting concerns.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 119,997 tCO₂e in ~7 months represents ~336% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation (~35,700 tCO₂e) for the elapsed period, implying the lifetime estimate of 314,860 tCO₂e would be exhausted in roughly 1.5 years of the 5-year crediting period
  • 12 contradictions across documents, including conflicting ERR figures (119,997 vs 136,398 vs 159,978), FNRB values (0.39 vs 0.82), leakage deductions (5% vs 0.95%), and FPIC status (false vs true)
  • 18+ material findings and 18 corrective actions identified in the verification report, including discrepancies in monitoring survey records, circular references in ex-ante ER values, and inconsistent CDM crediting start dates
  • CORSIA eligibility not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
27,44613,72313,723
2021
32,72320,76011,963
2022
32,8007,89724,903
2023
31,92414,14717,777
2024
28,485028,485
Total153,37856,52796,851

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

no reversals

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2021

Safeguards

Grievance present; FPIC contradictory

Double-claim

CCP eligible; CORSIA not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents