Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaAMS-II.G

Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme, Uganda – CPA No 025 supported by Republic of Korea

GS-3749 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11514

#160of 1329 in Industrial#13of 163 in Uganda#292of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#37of 189 in AMS-II.G

5.7/ 10
Integrity
5.8
Transparency
5.3
Claim Safety
5.8
Documentation
6.2

Audit Analysis

The Up Energy cookstove project in Uganda demonstrates solid additionality (combined test confirmed by the VVB) and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but suffers from notable permanence gaps: no buffer pool is stated and reversal events are not addressed, which is a material concern for a household cookstove programme where stoves can break or be abandoned. The absence of a verified ERR figure for the current crediting period and the fact that the only monitoring data (2022) predates the 2024–2029 crediting window limit confidence in current performance.

Red Flags

  • Reversal events are explicitly not addressed and no buffer pool percentage is stated, leaving the project exposed to permanence risk if cookstoves are damaged, replaced with open-fire cooking, or abandoned during the 5-year crediting period.
  • No verified ERR figure is available for the current crediting period (2024–2029); the only monitoring data on file covers 2022, which predates the current period, so actual performance cannot be confirmed.
  • CORSIA eligibility is confirmed while CCP status is not stated, creating a dual-channel allocation risk if credits are later registered in both systems.
  • Two corrective actions remain open at the time of the verification report: a methodology paragraph citation error in the PoA-DD and a missing SDG outcome and Safeguarding Principles assessment.

Credit Vintages Exhausted

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
29,84429,8440
Total29,84429,8440

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessed 2024

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance present; SDG assessment missing

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-07AMS-II.G.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents