Skip to main content
CarbonMeld CarbonMeld Carbon Observatory
Tools
EN
Re-assessment pendingCDMEE own generationIndiaRegistry: RegisteredACM0004

Electricity generation at 8 MW captive power plant using enthalpy of flue gases from blast furnace operations of Kalyani Steels Limited, in Karnataka state of India.

Developer: Kalyani Steels Limited

CDM-0427 ↗

#1351of 2793 in India#2792of 5732 in CDM (UNFCCC)#47of 82 in ACM0004

Score from methodology v2.1 (analysis of 21 Sep 2026). Re-assessment under v2.2 pending.

Assessment

CarbonMeld document-based assessment

01020304 Overall 5.2 / 10 Dimension scores are locked — the faint arcs are empty tracks, not zero scores.

Scale 0–10 · method weights: integrity 35% · transparency 25% · claim safety 25% · documentation 15%.

Re-assessment pending · v2.1

Analysis

A CDM waste-heat-recovery project at a steel plant in Karnataka, India, with VVB-confirmed additionality but significant stakeholder pushback on both additionality and baseline. The project delivered roughly 56% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2011 monitoring period, which is conservative, but the 2005 grid emission factor, project-specific baseline, and 15 corrective actions at validation raise reliability concerns. Documentation is reasonably complete (22 sources, high extraction confidence) yet the volume of material findings and CARs signals systematic MRV gaps.

Red Flags

4 red flags detected — Unlock with Premium

Findings

Risk Indicators

Additionality

🔒

Permanence

🔒

Leakage

🔒

Baseline

🔒

Safeguards

🔒

Double-claim

🔒

Risk indicator details are a Premium feature

Score Breakdown

Score factors per dimension are a Premium feature — Unlock with Premium

Detailed Analysis

The detailed per-dimension analysis is a Premium feature — Unlock with Premium

Evidence

Unlock the full analysis

On this page: the analysis of 21 Sep 2026, marked “Re-assessment pending”. Per-dimension scores, risk indicators, 4 red flags, score factors, detailed analysis, and 22 registry documents (22 analyzed).

€9+ VAT · 30-day pass · one-time, no auto-renewal

Every rated project, PDF reports, API access, portfolio alerts and per-dimension scores with red-flag details in side-by-side comparisons for 30 days (public-data comparison is free; fair use: 30 projects per day).

Price + VAT · By paying you accept the Terms of Use — digital content, no refunds. How Premium works

Eligibility & market

Transactions in the CDM registry are discontinued as of 31 December 2026 (UNFCCC, checked 6 October 2026). This page keeps the project's record and our analysis.

What can you claim with this credit?

Four checks buyers ask about, from the registry and the Integrity Council (ICVCM).

  • Airlines (CORSIA)

    Not published

    This registry does not publish CORSIA eligibility per project.

  • Integrity label (ICVCM CCP)

    No ICVCM information

    No CCP label and no ICVCM decision found for this project's methodology.

  • Removal or reduction

    Emission reduction or avoidance

    Prevents or reduces emissions — fits contribution claims, not SBTi neutralisation.

    Source: methodology

  • Paris Agreement (Article 6)

    Not published

    This registry does not publish Article 6 authorizations.

Information only, from public sources. Claim rules (CORSIA, SBTi, EU rules on green claims) change: check them before making a public claim. Since 27 September 2026, EU consumer rules do not allow “climate neutral” product claims based on offsets.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2006
41,681041,681
2007
69,394069,394
2009
68,135068,135
2011
27,459027,459
2012
95,637095,637
2013
34,981034,981
Total337,2870337,287

Methodology versions used

The methodology version stated in each monitoring, verification and issuance document, by period, compared with the official methodology pages.

  1. 2005ACM0004version not stated in the document

    monitoring report

  2. 2006ACM0004version not stated in the document

    monitoring report

  3. 2007ACM0004version not stated in the document

    monitoring report

  4. 2008ACM0004 v2.0last published version

    monitoring report

    official page · verified on

  5. 2009–2010ACM0004 v2.0last published version

    monitoring report

    official page · verified on

  6. 2011ACM0004 v2.0last published version

    monitoring report

    official page · verified on

  • ACM0004: Withdrawn (CDM / UNFCCC) · replaced byACM0012 · official page · verified on

A version is shown only when the document's own text writes it next to the methodology code. Current versions, status and CCP ranges come from the official pages linked, checked on the date shown.

Documents on the registry

Where to buy

Got an offer for these credits? Check it against the registry →

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

Profile & governance

Analysis ProvenanceACM0004

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected] →

Contest this rating

Something wrong in the analysis, or a registry document we have not used? Send us the link to the public source: you get a reference and an answer within 30 days.

Contest this rating →