12 MW hydropower plant in Bhandardara in Maharashtra, India.
#1202of 1935 in Renewable energy#628of 975 in India#917of 1459 in CDM (UNFCCC)#388of 806 in AMS-I.D
Audit Analysis
A 12 MW CDM hydropower project in Maharashtra, India, with a jurisdictional grid-emission-factor baseline and a combined additionality test, but undermined by a cluster of ten corrective-action requests and one compliance-level finding in the verification record, the absence of formal FPIC, and contradictory leakage and baseline characterisations across documents. The project delivered roughly 287 % of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the monitored period, suggesting a conservative baseline, yet the documentation quality and safeguard gaps limit confidence in the overall credit quality.
Red Flags
- Formal FPIC was not conducted (validation report, 2016) despite the project's location in a populated area of Maharashtra; grievance mechanism is not stated in any available document.
- Ten corrective-action requests (CAR#1–CAR#10) and one compliance-level finding (CL#1: missing UNFCCC renewal notification) were raised in the verification record, indicating material PDD and procedural deficiencies.
- Leakage justification is contradictory: the 2016 validation report states leakage was 'deemed negligible' while the 2021 monitoring report records it as 'not addressed', leaving the 0 % deduction without a consistent evidentiary basis.
- Grid emission factor of 0.689 tCO₂/MWh is drawn from the 2014 CEA database (CAR#3 notes the outdated v9 database was used), raising the question of whether the baseline reflects current grid conditions.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006 | 156,927 | 0 | 156,927 | |
| 2008 | 46,090 | 0 | 46,090 | |
| 2009 | 11,137 | 0 | 11,137 | |
| 2011 | 57,123 | 0 | 57,123 | |
| 2013 | 59,254 | 0 | 59,254 | |
| 2016 | 63,160 | 0 | 63,160 | |
| 2017 | 42,996 | 0 | 42,996 | |
| 2018 | 39,849 | 0 | 39,849 | |
| 2021 | 54,024 | 0 | 54,024 | |
| 2022 | 48,934 | 0 | 48,934 | |
| Total | 579,494 | 0 | 579,494 |
Risk Indicators
Combined test present; VVB sign-off not explicitly confirmed
no reversal events, but hydro-specifi
0 % deduction; justification contradicted between validation
Jurisdictional grid EF (2014 CEA); characterisation inconsis
Safeguards and benefit-sharing mentioned; FPIC not conducted
CORSIA and CCP statuses not stated in any available document
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →