Araku Valley Livelihood Project
#53of 261 in Soil carbon#419of 975 in India#511of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#19of 97 in AR-ACM0003
Audit Analysis
The Araku Valley Livelihood Project is a VCS soil-carbon ALM project with VVB-confirmed additionality and a 10% buffer pool, but it carries moderate risk due to a project-specific baseline with no documented formal reassessment past the 10-year mark, a 0% leakage deduction justified only as 'deemed negligible,' and a large number of corrective actions (20) raised during the 2025 verification. The project delivered roughly 78% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, indicating no over-crediting, but several key MRV parameters (FNRB method, usage monitoring) remain unstated in the available record.
Red Flags
- 20 corrective actions were required during the 2025 verification, spanning sampling design deviations, area discrepancies, data inconsistencies, and missing calibration records — indicating a verification process that surfaced substantial implementation gaps.
- Leakage deduction of 0% is justified only as 'deemed negligible' with no quantified analysis, which is thin for a soil-carbon ALM project where adjacent land-use changes are plausible.
- Baseline last reassessed date is not stated in any available document; the 10-year reassessment milestone (circa 2020) appears to have passed without a clearly documented formal reassessment, though material findings reference updated SOC default values.
- The 2024 monitoring report does not address reversal events, creating a gap in the non-permanence narrative for a soil-carbon project.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 38,551 | 32,449 | 6,102 | |
| 2014 | 57,835 | 47,871 | 9,964 | |
| 2016 | 22,222 | 4,450 | 17,772 | |
| 2017 | 50,644 | 6,675 | 43,969 | |
| 2018 | 50,644 | 6,675 | 43,969 | |
| 2019 | 50,644 | 6,675 | 43,969 | |
| 2020 | 58,636 | 7,891 | 50,745 | |
| 2021 | 62,784 | 8,520 | 54,264 | |
| 2022 | 8,742 | 3,893 | 4,849 | |
| Total | 400,702 | 125,099 | 275,603 |
Risk Indicators
Combined test, VVB-confirmed
10% buffer, no reversals, but 2024 report silent on non-perm
0% deduction, 'deemed negligible' justification only
Project-specific, no documented reassessment past 10-yr mark
FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing all confirmed (20
CORSIA not eligible; CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →