Biomass based power project of VPL
GS-1576 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6607
#230of 352 in Biomass#871of 975 in India#1592of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#532of 806 in AMS-I.D
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard biomass power project in India with VVB-confirmed additionality and recent baseline reassessment, but undermined by six corrective action requests, two findings, a significant gap between claimed and verified emissions reductions (approximately 48% of the claim was verified), an unresolved energy-source contradiction (mixed vs. renewable), and the absence of a buffer pool or reversal-risk treatment. The low extraction confidence and multiple cross-document contradictions further erode confidence in the project's data integrity.
Red Flags
- Six corrective action requests (CAR-01 through CAR-06) and two findings (FAR-01, FAR-02) reported in the 2025 verification report, indicating recurring compliance deficiencies
- Verified ERR of 18,631 tCO₂e represents only ~48% of the 38,657 tCO₂e claimed in the monitoring report for the same period, a substantial under-verification gap
- Energy source described as 'mixed' in the December 2023 monitoring report but 'renewable' in the October 2023 report — if non-renewable co-firing is involved, the carbon-content calculation and credit validity are at risk
- No buffer pool percentage stated and reversal events explicitly 'not addressed' in the verification report, leaving permanence risk unquantified
- CORSIA eligibility confirmed while CCP status is not stated, creating potential dual-channel crediting risk
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 14,521 | 14,521 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 44,770 | 44,770 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 45,920 | 45,920 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 46,560 | 16,412 | 30,148 | |
| 2021 | 48,941 | 23,515 | 25,426 | |
| 2022 | 31,604 | 631 | 30,973 | |
| 2023 | 38,657 | 773 | 37,884 | |
| Total | 270,973 | 146,542 | 124,431 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
reversals not addressed
0% with negligible justification (power project)
Project-specific; reassessed 2023
FPIC, grievance mechanism, safeguards documented
CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →