Skip to main content
VCSAgriculture Forestry and Other Land UseUganda Registry: RegisteredAR-ACM0003

Bukaleba Forest Project

VCS-799 ↗

#27of 261 in Soil carbon#12of 163 in Uganda#300of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#11of 97 in AR-ACM0003

5.7/ 10
Integrity
6.0
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
6.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Bukaleba Forest Project is a VCS ALM soil-carbon project in Uganda with a confirmed investment-test additionality assessment and a quantified 4.79% leakage deduction, but it carries moderate concerns from a project-specific baseline, a buffer pool that was reduced from 29% at validation to 10% at the 2022 verification, five open corrective actions (including a missing non-permanence risk report), and multiple contradictions across documents on safeguards, FPIC, and benefit-sharing. The project delivered roughly 274% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2016–2020 monitoring period, suggesting a conservative baseline, but the overall documentation and process record is uneven.

Red Flags

  • Buffer pool percentage dropped from 29% at the 2012 validation to 10% at the 2022 verification without a documented justification in the extracted record
  • Corrective Action 2 flags a missing non-permanence risk report and calculation, a significant gap for a 42-year forest crediting period
  • FPIC status is contradictory: the April 2022 verification report records it as not conducted, while the June 2022 monitoring report records it as conducted
  • Five corrective actions remain open, including monitoring-period mismatch, outdated template, and missing FSC certification evidence
  • Baseline last reassessment date is not stated in any available document; for a project-specific baseline this is a transparency gap

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2004
25,35025,3500
2011
226,201159,85366,348
2016
100,3588,33792,021
Total351,909193,540158,369

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

Buffer pool reduced; non-permanence report missing

Leakage

Quantified 4.79% deduction applied

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance status contradictory across documents

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01AR-ACM0003

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents