Grid-connected Solar PV project in Kael
GS-2766 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10809
#612of 1935 in Renewable energy#4of 12 in Senegal#322of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#469of 1287 in ACM0002
Audit Analysis
A grid-connected solar PV project in Senegal with a solid VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and consistent ERR verification (30,164 tCO₂e for the 2025 monitoring period, ~98% of pro-rata expectation). However, the project carries notable integrity concerns: a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction that the verification report flags as 'not addressed,' multiple material findings including meter accuracy and calibration gaps, and an unresolved CDM double-counting risk stemming from the project's prior CDM registration. Documentation is extensive (19 documents) but riddled with corrective actions and inconsistencies between the CDM-era PDD and the current Gold Standard registration.
Red Flags
- CDM double-counting risk: the project was originally registered under CDM (PDD dated 2020, 15-year crediting period) and is now under Gold Standard (5-year period); the verification report lists a corrective action requiring the VVB to check for double counting, indicating the risk is not yet fully resolved.
- Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the verification report (2025-08-24), contradicting the monitoring report's claim of 'deemed negligible' — the VVB did not confirm the leakage treatment.
- Multiple material findings on meter accuracy (0.02S vs 0.2S class), a calibration gap between July and December 2022, and inconsistent SDG reporting across monitoring reports undermine confidence in the MRV data quality.
- 14 corrective actions remain open, including documentation of meter changes, sample calculations for baseline values, and confirmation that land expropriation and resettlement (98 local people) were properly resolved.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 16,909 | 8,721 | 8,188 | |
| 2022 | 29,054 | 29,054 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 24,459 | 0 | 24,459 | |
| 2024 | 30,164 | 0 | 30,164 | |
| Total | 100,586 | 37,775 | 62,811 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, justification unconfirmed by VVB
Project-specific, reassessment timing not stated
FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented
CDM registration risk, CORSIA/CCP not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →