Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticEthiopiaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1247 VPA 127 Southern Ethiopia Community Boreholes

GS-1420 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6037

#118of 1329 in Industrial#2of 36 in Ethiopia#234of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.8/ 10
Integrity
6.0
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard community borehole project in Southern Ethiopia with VVB-verified additionality and no outstanding corrective actions, but weakened by the absence of a stated buffer pool, contradictory leakage justifications across documents, and a missing verified ERR figure that prevents independent over-crediting assessment. The project's safeguards (FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing) are documented, and the 2024 monitoring report confirms no reversal events, but the record contains multiple inter-document inconsistencies that reduce confidence in the underlying data.

Red Flags

  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the 2018 verification report describes it as 'quantified' while the 2020 monitoring report characterises it as 'deemed negligible', yet the deduction is 0% in both cases
  • Total ERR verified is not stated in any available document, making it impossible to independently confirm whether claimed reductions (96,198 tCO2e) were actually achieved
  • FNRB method is inconsistent across documents: the 2018 verification report cites a national default while the 2025 validation report references a local field measurement, raising questions about which value (0.88) is actually applied

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
4,8714,8710
2018
10,00010,0000
2019
4,6624,6620
2020
5,0125,0120
2021
2,9182,88830
2022
1,9274471,480
2023
4380438
Total29,82827,8801,948

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified combined test

Permanence

no reversals reported

Leakage

0% deduction with contradictory justification

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CCP and CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents