Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1247 VPA 4 Dokolo District Borehole Project

GS-375 ↗ · current registry ID: GS2480

#699of 1329 in Industrial#84of 163 in Uganda#1049of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard borehole water project in Uganda displaces decentralized thermal energy for water collection, with VVB-confirmed additionality and no reversal events. However, the verification report contains an unusually large number of material findings and corrective actions (over 50 items), indicating significant MRV data-quality weaknesses. The project lacks a buffer pool, and a contradiction exists between the PDD's original 5% leakage deduction and the current 0% 'deemed negligible' position.

Red Flags

  • Over 50 material findings and corrective actions in the verification report, including calculation errors, missing parameters (FD,y not reported), and inconsistencies between the MR and ER spreadsheet
  • Leakage deduction changed from 5% in the PDD (2023) to 0% 'deemed negligible' in the 2025 verification report, with the monitoring report (2023) describing it as 'quantified' — the basis for the change is unclear
  • FPIC status contradicts between the monitoring report (not conducted) and the validation report (conducted)
  • Multiple FARs from prior verifications remain open (FAR 01–05 on SDG indicators, fNRB reporting, and monitoring options)

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2013
440
2014
10,00010,0000
2015
10,00010,0000
2016
10,00010,0000
2017
10,00010,0000
2018
10,00010,0000
2019
7,0747,0740
2020
3,0753,0750
2021
1,9428761,066
2022
1,3311,30526
2023
1,9221,88537
2024
1,01993926
Total66,36764,3122,055

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

borehole failure risk

Leakage

0% deduction; PDD had 5%; justification unclear

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC status contradictory

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents