Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBurkina FasoGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1340 - Efficient cookstoves in Burkina Faso – tiipaalga F3PA cookstoves in Center-South Protected Areas - VPA-21

GS-2914 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10925

#232of 1329 in Industrial#8of 33 in Burkina Faso#402of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.4/ 10
Integrity
6.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Burkina Faso with VVB-verified additionality, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reported reversal events, but undermined by a project-specific baseline, ten open corrective actions, a 33% upward revision of verified ERs between two verification reports six weeks apart, and a verified figure roughly 6.4× the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the monitoring period. The combination of MRV inconsistencies, a substituted site visit, and an ongoing second-round audit leaves meaningful residual risk on both the integrity and claim-safety dimensions.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERs of 60,789 tCO₂e for the 2023 monitoring period are approximately 6.4× the pro-rata ex-ante expectation of ~9,490 tCO₂e (94,901 lifetime ÷ 10-year crediting period), raising a significant over-crediting concern.
  • The verified ER figure was revised upward from 45,550 to 60,789 tCO₂e between two verification reports dated 2026-03-05 and 2026-04-17, a 33% increase in six weeks that is not explained in the extracted record.
  • Ten corrective actions remain open, including methodology-version inconsistency, Np-value inconsistencies, and missing ex-ante calculation explanations, indicating material MRV weaknesses.
  • The on-site verification visit was substituted with an Objective Observer due to security threats (terroristic attacks) in 2024 and 2025, reducing the direct-observation component of verification.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
8,14708,147
2023
10,000010,000
Total18,147018,147

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

no reversals

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance, safeguards documented

Double-claim

CCP and CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents