GS4424 VPA1 African Cookstoves and Water Programme
GS-869 ↗ · current registry ID: GS4906
#838of 1329 in Industrial#65of 139 in Rwanda#1238of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The African Cookstoves and Water Programme in Rwanda has VVB-confirmed additionality and a verified ERR that matches the claimed figure, but is undermined by a major usage-rate discrepancy (99% assumed in the PDD versus roughly 53% verified), a 0% leakage deduction with contradictory justifications across documents, seven material findings in the verification report, and a project-specific baseline with no documented reassessment. The low extraction confidence and multiple cross-document contradictions further erode confidence in the underlying data.
Red Flags
- Usage rate assumed at 99% in the PDD but verified at approximately 52.74% in the verification report — a gap of nearly 47 percentage points that raises serious over-crediting concerns
- Leakage deduction of 0% with contradictory justifications: the verification report (June 2023) states 'quantified' while the monitoring report (June 2023) states 'deemed negligible', and no quantified leakage figure is provided in either document
- Seven material findings in the verification report, including inconsistent ICS unit counts across monitoring report sections, an outdated tracking database used for random sampling, and an undefined 'use vs non-use' criterion
- Low extraction confidence across the document set, indicating at least one key document was poorly readable, which limits the reliability of the extracted data
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 407 | 407 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 5,313 | 4,351 | 962 | |
| 2017 | 7,712 | 7,702 | 10 | |
| 2018 | 6,657 | 6,524 | 133 | |
| 2019 | 6,083 | 5,962 | 121 | |
| 2020 | 5,308 | 4,056 | 1,252 | |
| 2021 | 3,527 | 3,504 | 23 | |
| 2022 | 1,719 | 1,685 | 34 | |
| Total | 36,726 | 34,191 | 2,535 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
no reversals reported
0% deduction, contradictory justification, no quantified figure
Project-specific baseline, no reassessment date recorded
Grievance mechanism present (2023), FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →