Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticSenegalGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 3: Borehole project "Antonio Giaffreda", Senegal

GS-1118 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6443

#457of 1329 in Industrial#8of 12 in Senegal#717of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.1/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard borehole water-access project in Senegal verified by SustainCERT with no material findings, but the extracted record lacks explicit additionality documentation, a buffer pool, and a baseline reassessment date. The project delivered approximately 77% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the monitoring period, indicating conservative crediting. Multiple contradictions across documents—particularly on leakage justification, crediting period length, and grievance mechanism status—reduce confidence in the data record.

Red Flags

  • Additionality test type and VVB confirmation are not stated in any extracted document, leaving a core integrity requirement unverified in the record
  • Crediting period discrepancy: the PDD (2021) states a 20-year period (2016–2036) while the monitoring report (2024) states a 5-year period (2018–2023), creating ambiguity about the true ex-ante basis
  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the verification report (2024) says 'quantified' while the monitoring report (2024) says 'deemed negligible', with a 0% deduction in both cases
  • Four corrective actions remain open, including designing trip-distance questionnaires and replacing the grievance book, indicating operational MRV gaps

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2018
2,7292,7290
2019
3,9692,8941,075
2020
3,5442,2941,250
2021
3,3933,131262
2022
3,2256342,591
2023
986281705
Total17,84611,9635,883

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Not explicitly documented in extracted record

Permanence

no reversal events addressed

Leakage

0% deduction; contradictory justification across documents

Baseline

Project-specific; no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance and benefit sharing present; FPIC not documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents