Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticZambiaVintage 2023, 2024General Methodologyv2.1

GS7591 VPA 37 Zambia Western Province Safe Water Project

GS-2969 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11010

#783of 1329 in Industrial#18of 33 in Zambia#1171of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
3.5

Audit Analysis

The Zambia Western Province Safe Water Project (GS7591) is a Gold Standard energy-efficiency project displacing decentralized thermal energy, with additionality confirmed by the VVB and no reversal events reported. However, the project is burdened by an unusually large volume of material findings and corrective actions spanning calculation errors, template non-compliance, and parameter inconsistencies, and key parameters (leakage deduction, fNRB value and method) show contradictions across documents. The overall picture is of a project that is delivering on the ground (verified usage rate exceeds the ex-ante assumption) but whose documentation and internal consistency raise meaningful quality concerns.

Red Flags

  • Extensive list of material findings and corrective actions (over 60 items) spanning calculation errors, missing parameters, methodology version misreferences, and template non-compliance, indicating systemic quality-control weaknesses in the monitoring and reporting process.
  • Leakage treatment is contradictory: the 2024 verification report records a 0% deduction with a 'quantified' justification, while the 2025 validation report applies a 5% deduction, and the original PDD described leakage as 'deemed negligible'—the project's leakage position has shifted without clear reconciliation.
  • fNRB value and method are inconsistent across documents: the 2024 verification report uses 0.86 (national default), an earlier 2024 verification report references a local-field method, and the 2025 validation report records 0.74, creating uncertainty about the correct reduction factor.
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
7,7297,7290
2021
33,39233,3920
2022
47,94339,3958,548
2023
60,00058,8011,199
2024
55,4027,21348,189
2025
20,015020,015
Total224,481146,53077,951

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% vs 5% deduction contradiction across documents

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, reassessed 2025

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents