Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS7591 VPA 7 Northern Uganda Safe Water Project

GS-2207 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7592

#1078of 1329 in Industrial#135of 163 in Uganda#1520of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.2/ 10
Integrity
4.0
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
3.5

Audit Analysis

The Northern Uganda Safe Water Project has a confirmed additionality assessment and no reversal events, but is undermined by an extensive list of material findings (over 30 items), 11 cross-document contradictions, a leakage deduction reduced from 5% to 0% without clear justification, and a project-specific baseline. The low extraction confidence and the monitoring period preceding the crediting period start date raise serious questions about the reliability of the reported figures.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction reduced from 5% (PDD, 2023) to 0% (verification, 2025) with justification shifting from 'deemed negligible' to 'quantified' — no substantive quantification is visible in the extracted record
  • Over 30 material findings and 40+ corrective actions logged across verification and monitoring reports, including fNRB value discrepancies, geo-coordinate errors, borehole ID gaps (double-counting risk), and inconsistent crediting period dates
  • FPIC status contradicts between the monitoring report (not conducted) and the later validation report (conducted) — a fundamental safeguards gap
  • Monitoring period (Jan–Dec 2024) precedes the stated crediting period start (5 Feb 2025), creating ambiguity about which period the verified ERRs of 237,039 tCO₂e actually cover
  • Lifetime ex-ante ERR is not stated in any available document, preventing a meaningful pro-rata over/under-delivery check against the 300,000 tCO₂e claimed figure

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
32,0164,88227,134
2021
54,87953,942937
2022
58,04839,53018,518
2023
48,75210,69938,053
2024
44,84943,953896
Total238,544153,00685,538

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, reduced from 5% in PDD

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessed 2024

Safeguards

Grievance present, FPIC contradicted

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents