Humbo Ethiopia Assisted Natural Regeneration Project
GS-1922 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10220
#13of 36 in Ethiopia#963of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Humbo Ethiopia A/R project has a VVB-confirmed additionality assessment and documented safeguards, but suffers from a project-specific baseline, an unquantified reversal risk, a 0% leakage deduction justified only as 'negligible,' and six open corrective actions. The 2024 verification report shows the project delivered roughly 79% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2017–2021 monitoring period, indicating conservative crediting. Low extraction confidence and multiple inter-document contradictions reduce confidence in the overall data picture.
Red Flags
- Six corrective actions remain open in the 2024 verification report, including justification of CO2 fixation calculations, methodology version update, and evidence of re-measuring after strata changes
- Leakage treatment shifted from 'quantified' (2018 verification) to 'deemed negligible' (2024 verification) with a 0% deduction, weakening the leakage safeguard over time
- Reversal risk is described as 'not addressed' — the project references the tCER mechanism and protection measures but does not explicitly quantify reversal probability or maintain a buffer pool
- Minimum extraction confidence is rated 'low,' indicating at least one key document was poorly readable, undermining data reliability
- Crediting period start date is inconsistent across documents (2006 in the 2022 monitoring report vs. 2016 in the 2018 verification report)
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 7,491 | 7,491 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 26,636 | 25,276 | 1,360 | |
| 2017 | 24,994 | 24,994 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 34,076 | 30,773 | 3,303 | |
| 2019 | 34,076 | 28,508 | 5,568 | |
| 2020 | 34,076 | 34,076 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 34,076 | 30,895 | 3,181 | |
| Total | 240,371 | 226,959 | 13,412 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
Reversal risk not quantified
0% deduction, 'deemed negligible' only; treatment weakened over time
Project-specific baseline; reassessment not yet due but not stated
FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit-sharing documented
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →