Karaburun Wind Power Plant (Phase-II)
#1439of 1935 in Renewable energy#32of 75 in TR#60of 154 in Intl. Carbon Registry (ICR)#1104of 1287 in ACM0002
Audit Analysis
The Karaburun Wind Power Plant (Phase-II) is a grid-connected wind project under the ICR standard with VVB-confirmed additionality, but the validation process surfaced 39 corrective action requests and multiple inter-document contradictions (FPIC status, baseline method, grid emission factor) that undermine confidence in the underlying data. The project delivers exactly 100% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed period, which is reassuring, yet the absence of a buffer pool, unaddressed reversal risk, and CORSIA eligibility without a clear CCP status create moderate over-crediting and permanence concerns.
Red Flags
- 39 Corrective Action Requests and 1 Forward Action Request were issued during validation, including substantive issues with the additionality common-practice threshold (PDD used >2 where the Tool requires >3) and double-counting clarification
- FPIC status is contradictory: the PDD (Sep 2024) states FPIC was conducted, while the validation report (Nov 2024) records it as not conducted
- No buffer pool is in place for a 10-year crediting period and reversal risk is marked as 'not addressed' despite a risk assessment identifying Turkey's economic instability
- CORSIA eligibility is confirmed but CCP status is not stated, creating dual-channel / double-claim ambiguity
- Baseline method is contradictory within the validation report itself: 'project' (Nov 2024) vs 'jurisdictional' (Oct 2024), and the grid emission factor differs between documents (0.6488 vs 0.7424)
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 146,362 | 0 | 146,362 | |
| 2020 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2021 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2022 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2023 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2024 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2025 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2026 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2027 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2028 | 298,448 | 0 | 298,448 | |
| 2029 | 152,086 | 0 | 152,086 | |
| Total | 2,984,480 | 0 | 2,984,480 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed but threshold error and 39 CARs
reversal risk not addressed
0% deduction, negligible for grid-connected wind
Project-specific; method and grid EF contradictory
Grievance mechanism present; FPIC status contradictory
CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →