Skip to main content
ICRAvoidance / ReductionTRAMS-I.D

Kavakçalı HPP

ICR-232 ↗

#152of 1935 in Renewable energy#1of 75 in TR#2of 154 in Intl. Carbon Registry (ICR)#50of 806 in AMS-I.D

6.5/ 10
Integrity
6.5
Transparency
6.5
Claim Safety
7.0
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

Kavakçalı HPP is a small grid-connected hydropower project in Turkey that displaces fossil-fuel-based grid electricity, with a jurisdictional baseline and VVB-confirmed investment additionality. The project delivered roughly 112% of its ex-ante emission-reduction expectation over the 10-year crediting period, with no reversal events. However, the verification process surfaced 24 material findings requiring correction and four outstanding corrective actions, and several key data points (baseline reassessment date, FNRB, CORSIA/CCP status) remain unconfirmed in the available record.

Red Flags

  • 24 material findings were raised during verification, including monthly generation data errors across six consecutive years (2018–2023), IRR calculation errors, and GHG mitigation value inconsistencies between the PDD and ER sheets — all corrected but indicating weak initial data quality
  • Project commissioning (2013) predates the EMRA operating licence (2019); the proponent supplied evidence of a prior licence, but the gap raises a question about the regulatory basis for the first six years of generation
  • Four corrective actions remain open, including completion of the ICR ESES Tool and re-submission of all documentation under v6.0 templates, meaning the project's compliance file is not yet fully closed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2013
18,728018,728
2014
24,589024,589
2015
24,589024,589
2016
24,589024,589
2017
24,589024,589
2018
24,589024,589
2019
24,589024,589
2020
24,589024,589
2021
24,589024,589
2022
24,589024,589
2023
5,86105,861
Total245,8900245,890

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Investment test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

Negligible, justified for grid-connected RE

Baseline

Jurisdictional, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, ESES referenced

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-08AMS-I.D.: Grid connected renewable electricity generation

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents