Nepal Biogas Support Program - CPA 7: 18,392 digesters
GS-1493 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6394
#141of 268 in Biogas#76of 101 in Nepal#1086of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
A large-scale Nepal biogas program (18,392 digesters) with VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but undermined by an extensive list of material findings and corrective actions spanning formula errors, missing spreadsheets, and QA/QC gaps. Multiple contradictions between the 2025 and 2026 verification reports (ERR figures, FNRB units, method) raise data-reliability concerns. The absence of a stated buffer pool, reversal-event history, and CORSIA/CCP status leaves key permanence and double-claiming questions open.
Red Flags
- 30+ material findings and 30+ corrective actions across the verification record, including formula discrepancies in the ER sheet, missing QA/QC procedures, and a database of digesters not initially submitted — indicating systemic monitoring quality issues
- FNRB value reported as 86.1 (local field, 2026 VR) versus 0.86 (national default, 2025 VR) — a unit inconsistency (kg/kg vs t/t) that, if unresolved, could inflate or deflate emissions by a factor of 100
- No buffer pool percentage or reversal-event history found in any available document, leaving permanence risk for 18,392 digesters unquantified
- Verified ERR of 381,686 tCO2e for a single monitoring year is roughly 4.2× the pro-rata expectation derived from the 455,721 tCO2e lifetime ex-ante estimate over a 5-year crediting period, suggesting either a very conservative ex-ante baseline or a scope mismatch between the two figures
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 1,265 | 0 | 1,265 | |
| 2017 | 53,363 | 0 | 53,363 | |
| 2018 | 71,148 | 21,829 | 49,319 | |
| 2019 | 62,743 | 10,667 | 52,076 | |
| 2020 | 58,640 | 0 | 58,640 | |
| 2021 | 50,947 | 50,947 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 54,658 | 777 | 53,881 | |
| Total | 352,764 | 84,220 | 268,544 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed barrier test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
5% quantified deduction
Project-specific, reassessed 2022
Grievance mechanism confirmed; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →