Skip to main content
VCSEnergy industries (renewable/non-renewable sources)South Africa Registry: RegisteredACM0018

Ngodwana Biomass to Energy Project

VCS-1982 ↗

#165of 352 in Biomass#31of 59 in South Africa#963of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#10of 13 in ACM0018

4.6/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.8
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The Ngodwana biomass-to-energy project is a VCS-registered ACM0018 project in South Africa with a reputable VVB (ERM CVS) and verified additionality, but it is undermined by extensive methodological deviations, a four-month turbine shutdown that drove verified reductions to roughly 30% of the pro-rata lifetime expectation, a project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment date, and the absence of FPIC and benefit-sharing documentation. Multiple contradictions between the 2025 and 2026 verification reports on baseline method, ERR figures, and benefit sharing further erode confidence in the data record.

Red Flags

  • Verified reductions of 118,226 tCO2e represent only ~30% of the pro-rata lifetime ex-ante expectation (~396,000 tCO2e) for the 2.46-year monitoring period, driven by a 4-month turbine shutdown (Nov 2023–Mar 2024) and increased B4 biomass use
  • FPIC was not conducted and benefit sharing is not described in the most recent verification report (2026-07-13), a significant safeguard gap for a South African community-adjacent project
  • Fuel consumption was measured via purchase invoices rather than meters, and gross generation and auxiliary consumption were not separately metered as prescribed by ACM0018, in both monitoring periods
  • Contradictions between the 2025 and 2026 verification reports on baseline method (project vs jurisdictional), verified ERR (118,226 vs 133,552), and benefit sharing (false vs true) indicate data-reliability issues
  • Negative leakage values were observed in May 2024, January 2025, and April 2025 due to biomass storage time lag, yet the leakage deduction percentage is not stated in the extracted record

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
73,04760,23012,817
2023
60,506060,506
Total133,55360,23073,323

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed (ERM CVS)

Permanence

Energy project – no storage, N/A

Leakage

Quantified but pct unstated; negative values observed

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC not conducted

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-09ACM0018

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents