Skip to main content
VCSEnergy demandTogo Registry: RegisteredVMR0006

Sequoia Improved cookstoves project in Togo

VCS-3917 ↗

#70of 150 in Cookstoves#3of 15 in Togo#741of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#51of 103 in VMR0006

5.0/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Sequoia cookstove project in Togo has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by 27 material findings, 21 corrective actions, and multiple cross-document contradictions on key parameters (fNRB value, fNRB method, additionality test type). The project delivered only about 7% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the first monitoring period, which is conservative but raises questions about the original estimate's accuracy. The 90% usage rate remains unverified, and CORSIA/CCP eligibility is not stated.

Red Flags

  • 27 material findings and 21 corrective actions (4 CARs, 11 CLs) indicate significant data quality and documentation issues across the verification cycle
  • fNRB value reported as 74.2 in the verification report but 0.742 in the monitoring report — a 100× discrepancy that, even if a unit error, signals poor internal consistency
  • Additionality test type is 'investment' in the verification report but 'combined' in the PDD, and fNRB method is 'national_default' in the VR but 'local_field' in the PDD
  • 90% usage rate assumed in the ex-ante estimate but not verified in the monitoring report
  • Project delivered only ~7% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period (98,536 vs ~1,457,000 expected), suggesting the lifetime estimate of 5,796,120 tCO₂e may be overly optimistic

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
1,39501,395
2023
58,280058,280
2024
38,861038,861
Total98,536098,536

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, not yet due for 10-yr reassessment

Safeguards

FPIC conducted, grievance mechanism present

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03VMR0006

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents