Skip to main content
GSBiomass, or Liquid Biofuel - HeatChinaAMS-I.I

Sichuan Rural Poor-Household Biogas Development Programme, CPA Nb. SCHHBG-2010-01

GS-166 ↗ · current registry ID: GS1288

#59of 352 in Biomass#410of 1084 in China#459of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.4/ 10
Integrity
4.8
Transparency
5.8
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
5.8

Audit Analysis

The Sichuan Rural Biogas Programme is a long-running Gold Standard project with 73 component households, confirmed additionality, and no reported reversal events. However, the project-specific baseline, absence of a buffer pool, contradictory leakage justifications, and an extensive catalogue of material findings and corrective actions across multiple monitoring cycles raise meaningful concerns about the robustness and consistency of the MRV process. The 2022 monitoring period shows the verified ERR matching the claimed value, but the lifetime ex-ante estimate is not available in the extracted record, limiting the ability to assess cumulative over- or under-delivery.

Red Flags

  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the 2023 verification report describes it as 'quantified' while the 2023 monitoring report calls it 'deemed negligible,' yet the deduction is 0% in both cases.
  • The 2023 verification report lists over 50 material findings and corrective actions, including incorrect baseline and project emission calculations, missing sampling parameters, and outdated data sources in the monitoring report v1, indicating systemic MRV quality-control weaknesses.
  • The additionality test type is inconsistent across documents: the 2013 monitoring report records a barrier test while the 2021 PDD records an investment test, and the 2014 verification report did not confirm additionality whereas the 2023 report does.
  • FPIC (Free, Prior and Informed Consent) status is not stated in any available document, despite the project targeting rural poor households.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
1,38301,383
2013
2,19902,199
2014
2,29402,294
2015
1,93901,939
2016
2,10002,100
2017
2,12702,127
2018
2,11302,113
2019
1,70301,703
2020
1,8541,8540
2021
1,8831,84637
2022
65964613
Total20,2544,34615,908

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed (barrier/investment test)

Permanence

no reversals reported

Leakage

0% deduction; contradictory justification

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2021

Safeguards

Grievance & benefit-sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CCP and CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06AMS-I.I., AMS-III.R.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents